Need Help Building

mgbl3

Solid State Member
This is my first time building, so please forgive any stupid questions. I've spent some time researching and started off with the 1000-1500, non-overlock template in the stickied thread. I want a solid build and will use it for numerous things, including gaming. Here's where I'm at so far:

CPU Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS P5E LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
HDD SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 750GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Case Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Disk Drive SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R
PSU XIGMATEK MC NRP-MC651 ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V Ver. 2.92 650W Power Supply
GPU 2 X SAPPHIRE 100242L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card

Total after rebates: 1143.92

The few things I changed from the actual thread were:

CPU - Upgraded to E8500 3.16Ghz, only 10 dolla more.
Case - Liked the look better. Will it hold everything still?

The original post is a couple months old so I wanted to make sure everything is still up-to-date. I know absolutely nothing about motherboards, so you guys tell me if thats a solid choice. I have a couple hundred more I could use, but are there any upgrades worth the money? Also, do I need a sound card? What about, say, a network card? I've got a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and can purchase Vista cheap through the university I go to. Is there anything else I need?

Thanks for the help!

Looks nice, have fun with the 4850s, they're awesome.

Really nice deal on the E8500, I've never seen them that cheap.