HELP WITh MY SECONDARY HARD DRIVE??!

6a9x3li

Solid State Member
hi

i recently just installed my spare hard drive from another comp i no longer use. its only a 20Gb hard drive and after i installed it into the comp it only shows that it has 2 Gb of space only? wheres the rest of my 18gb of space?! how can i go about to fix this? thanks for any help if possible.

Yeah, a bit more info will help us help you better. If you are running XP. Go to Start-Right Click "My Computer"-Click Manage-Then go to Disk Management. This will show your Hard drives and partitions.

sorry guys, im a noob to this forum, haha.

i am running windows xp. the amount of space is printed on the sticker on top of the HD and it says 20 Gb lols. im sorry but can you guys tell me what OS, IDE, and SATA is?

i right clicked on my computer and went to manage and on my secondary hard drive it shows 2 GB from that HD and 17.01 unallocated?

OS-Operating System. IDE and SATA are hard drives that use different connectors. Google it for more info.

Anyway, the majority of your hard drive is unallocated. It needs to be partitioned and formatted in order to use the remaining space (17.01). Just go back to the Disk Management:

1. Right click on the space listed as unallocated.

2. At the menu that comes up, click on the New Partition option.

3. You will now be presented with a wizard as to how you would like the partition to be created. At the first screen press Next.

4. At the following screen, determine if you need a primary or extended partition. Most people will be fine selecting Primary Partition. Select Primary Partition and press Next.