building new server.

Hvc801

Baseband Member
Hello everyone. I'm not sure if any one knows of the game - ragnarok Online, but im an avid gammer of one and enjoy playing on private servers. Im looking to go forward and build my own server to host my own private ragnarok server. I'm not quite sure what everyone uses to provide lagless gaming and great service for the gammers, and this is what im asking you guys. I'm an experienced computer builder, but have never built a server computer. I'm not so sure on which windows server operating system to use or what type of power i should be running to keep the server up 24.7. any help or suggestions on this topic will be greatly appriciated.

p.s.

This is going to be a home server, so im also woundering where i would be able to store the server, and about how much it would run up my electric bill.

p.p.s

Also if you look into the game, its a decent sized game and needs to be able to hold atleast 2,000+ members.

looked at a few sites on google and it seems that it doesn't take much to have a ragnarok server

check this link.
http://www.moddb.com/forum/thread/starzinger-ro-a-custom-ragnarok-online-server

The specs are:
Pentium 4 2.0 GHz
768 MB DDR RAM
40 GB 7200 RPM Harddrive
10mbit BROADBAND Connection

Basically just has an old P4 with the ragnarok server software on it. As you can seen he has a pretty solid connection, this is what will make it or break it for you. With that many players and connections you NEED a good and fast connection. If you wanted you could probably run it from xp, but you could probably use server 2000 or 2003 (possibly even linux, but I don't know anything about the software they use and if its compatible.) Hopefully this helps. I used to have some friends that played that game, but I never got into it.