New PC, need advice

adoado

Beta member
Hello all ;)

I am planning on making a new gaming PC. I have made several extreme gaming PCs before, but as technology changes every year, I am not sure what is good and bad with all the new products out there.

I basically want to make an extreme gaming PC, while keeping the price as low as possible (a hard thing to do, I know ^^).

My first dilemma is whether to get dual 8800GTX graphics cards or go for the equivalent 9th series models. I plan to go dual-SLI if I use the 8x cards, or single for now with a 9x card. As for using crossfire, I have never used it before so I know nothing about it...

As for motherboards, another problem :p
I have been reading about the 780i chipset, but several places have not recommended it - one reason being its heat output. The 790i boards (Striker II) fix this, but there is no way I am paying 4 times the price for DDR 3 ram with very little improvement in speed...

And CPU - well, I will try to go some version of Intel quad core or, AMD?

I would really appreciate any advice, as I do not want to make a computer and find out it is not what I wanted it to be...

I want to run games like Crysis, Fear, etc. all relatively high, but I guess that means using Vista :(

Thanks ;)
Adoado ;)

running SLI is not necessary , theres not a good enough boost to pay an extra $350..

But either a 8800GTS or 9800Gtx there both great cards for gaming

For cpu get Quad coreQ6600 (or the newer ones), or Dual Core E8400 -E8500

As For Graphics card's,I Would go with the 9800GTX.Also as for Processors,I Would go with AMD Because of the price and also i have heard that they are better in gaming than intel.

As For Graphics card's,I Would go with the 9800GTX.Also as for Processors,I Would go with AMD Because of the price and also i have heard that they are better in gaming than intel.

Dont think that a AMD would be better then a E8400 @ 4Ghz