Digital Audio Workstation/Noise Control/Heat Issue

coffeecupfever

Beta member
I am a musician and I am currently setting my computer up (again) for recording as I am buying new gear. So it is more important now that my computer run quiet but I am also on a budget.

I'm Using:
ASUS PFLD2-BM MOBO
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz processor
4 GB Kingston 667Mhz DDR2
On-Board Video
Running Analog Mixer to Firewire.

To cut down on noise I am going to be using sound dampening foam to line my case and open areas (excluding vents)

I also purchased two fan speed controllers in order to control the CPU and Back fan.
I will only be running the computer roughly 8-10 hours at a time per recording session and during mastering stages.

My Question is this: Should I Be Worried About Any heat Issues? Associated with using the dampening foam to take up space, and turning the fan speeds down?

Also: If anyone does have experience with a DAW and know some great tricks for sound control. let me know. Thanks

ok well your best bet would be to take some temps using speedfan or something or in bios and then start adding sound insulation then check temps then start slowing fans then take temps.

basicly jus take it a small step at a time,

You shouldn't have any heat issues although watch your temperatures with a small app. You could also use a bigger CPU heat sink with a quieter fan. You don't really want to have to adjust the CPU fan speed all the time. Being an ASUS board the fan speed might automatically adjust itself according to CPU load.

I use CoolEdit Pro...

cool.jpg

I'm still getting used to it and the multitrack side of it but from what I see it's a pretty decent application.

Thanks for the tips. When I get some bucks I may just get a very good cpu heatsink.

I'm Using Adobe Audition 3. (originally cool edit)
I'm not sure how it ranks up against something like Cubase or Sonar. But it works well for me.

Thanks for the tips. When I get some bucks I may just get a very good cpu heatsink.