Customers suck.

Celegorm

Site Team
Staff member
Now that I've had some time to relax, and a shower I'm calm enough to actually share my day at work. Now for those too new to know, or just don't remember, I work as a service tech at a local computer store thus have to deal with many angry people. While today was no exception, we did have more angry people than normal (mostly due to situations beyond our control) and two just stick out enough to share.

To understand the first customer you need to know a few things. My place of work is also an ISP. We sell DSL and dial-up. Our DSL is kinda tricky as it's run through AT&T (don't ask how cuz IDK. CGFreak might as he works in our DSL dept.). Now at least in my area of Wisconsin AT&T has done a bunch of line-upgrades as well as some other mantinence (sp?) things which has made a lot of conflicts with our customer's modems.

That is where story one begins. Our phone rang and I picked it up. It was a customer having DSL problems (like a lot of other people due to what I mentioned above). I told him he would have to call our DSL tech support number since I cannot just transfer the call (even though they are in the same store). This is where he blows up. "No! I will not call those lazy @$$es! I've been trying to call all of last night and today and it's always busy! Tell them to get their god D@^% phones back on-the-hook so calls can go through!"

Now I'm trying to be polite so I tell him that they are simply busy because of AT&T's recent changes. I also inform him that I can see the techs from where I was (which was no lie) and both were on phone calls. Of course that's where I become a "Mother eff'ing liar". And he demands to hear me tell them to put their phones back on the hook. I tell him I cannot do that and if he's unwilling to keep trying the hotline he will need to bring in his DSL modem to our store. At that, I hear a promt "F$#* you" followed by the line disconnecting.