(Ram or harddrive) chang out. total newbie

amp27

Daemon Poster
ok first post and i am not a total newbie. but i dont no names(just the main components) i have no clue about what certain slots are called or what formats or brands.

ok my friend had a old computer and they said it stoped working so i look at it.

(ok first of all i thought it was called the RAM. but then i heard the term harddrive too. it is not the chips the plug it to the mother board.
it is what is called the C:drive and/or the local disk. i will call it the ram for the rest of this post.)

now it works but it is running Windows Me (i know nothing about that)

i plan to chang that and couldn't bring back the whole computer. so i took the RAM (what ever it is) back home with me

Can i just plug my computer into it or are there risks to that

also: if the computer it is in was running windows Me.. if i put it in my computer with it say windows me still or will it run what i had on my computer before (i am asking if the ram is what make your computer your computer so if i put it in it will be just like it was at his house)

it is a maxtor:

model: 33073u4

30 gigabytes about 28.3 useable space on disk.

i am running a dell with windows 2000 pofessinal* this is just a 'at home' computer. i am going to clean it out and add antivirus software. and change it to PC99(is that better then "Me"?)

all of what i said could be way fu*ked up, so yea.

my goal:

put the ram i got and put it in place of the one in my computer.(then clean it up... and update it)

The component is called a Hard Drive

What are his pc specs (make, model etc)?

It may boot in your pc but I can't say without more information.

What is PC99???

Okay, first- lets face the facts.

If you don't know any of these extremely basic names, you are obviously a total newbie. How can you understand the components, if you don't even know what they are?