I know I've made this post a thousands times, but...

Like was mentioned, it may be a little overkill, especially with new gpu architecture on the horizon.

However, if you must have it now, I would say crossfire hands down.

You're an undergrad or still HS?

Props, I'm a 34 yo undergrad trying to get into law school. Full time employment, wife and 2 kids. I have a 4.0 and know what a pita it is to keep it, there's so much more work from a 3.5+ to a 4.0.:eek:

Sophomore in HS :p

Yeah, I'm constantly doing work and studying, no fun. I can't imagine what it'd be like with a wife and kids, AND a job. For me it's just rowing...I'm surprised you are able to maintain such a ridiculously high average with all your responsibilities.

Well, I wish you success =] My dad is a Lawyer...he said it was a ton of work as well (he was at the top of his class).

About the computer:

I live in Switzerland, where hardware is much more expansive than it is in the states. I go back to the states every summer, so I'll be building it in early July, so there's a 3 month wait still. I just like fantasizing about it :D

Hopefully, by then, there will be new releases....

Well, I'm almost sure SLI still works a lot better then crossfire, but I wouldnt go for either. I would just get one graphics card. A 9800gX2 if you need a lot of power. At that res though, it might be kinda hard.... Maybe 2 9800gx2s if you want to spend more.

And dont get the 10,000RPM raptor. Get a seagate 7200.11 drive, they are like almost as fast or faster then the rapter, yet they only need to run at 7200RPM

TBH My 8800gts plays everything i throw at it (apart from crysis) on the higest possible settings . there is NO need to pay tipple that just to get a "few more fps"
and there is somthing wrong with the cod4 benchmarks , mines on Max settings and im getting 125fps(thats what its limited too)