What's a good guitar for a beginner?

IMO it depends what you want to do with the amp.

if you want to practise, then this cube should be more than enough.

if you even want to do more than it'll never be enough.

I think that the best way to get effects is to buy stomp boxes, or a multiFX box. amp based effects just aren't all that great usually.

for the amp on it's own though, i don't think that you can really fault these as practise amps.

Nah, I played electric for a couple of months, but I have always wanted to play electric. A lot of my friends have electric guitars, and I enjoy playing them more.

yeah I know, when I started playing on my 11th birthday I was still new to music and didn't really have any influences and I started on a nylon string I borrowed for 2 weeks then got a steel string acoustic then I think I didn't get a Yamaha Pacifica electric until a year or so later for about $350 or something.

Amp looks good!

<insert post here>

I got 4 hours of sleep so it's not as easy to follow haha but that's awesome about the pickup switching mod. I'm more of a riff guy so I'm usually playing an EMG Active 81 in the bridge and an EMG Active 85 in the neck pickup slot. There's no middle pickup with my 3-way, switching to middle is really just... in the middle, haha it's bad.

Edit: yeah if you wanna play live I think you need +40 watts atleast. I've used a 75 watt Line 6 for a while but I really need to get this job near my house for a 100 watt Randall stack.

Electrics are easier to learn on because the strings aren't as thick and it's easier to fret chords. Acoustics however are a little harder to learn on, but you can play them anywhere, it's all a matter of personal preference. Persosnally, I'm more of a Acoustic man but I get a hard on whenever I hear someone shred on a Electric:p

The Fender Squire Strat is a great beginner guitar, that's what I had. You get the guitar, amp, strap, tuner, picks and a book for under $200.