How ready am I?

colorblindjimbo

In Runtime
I am a junior college student, and I am graduating after this semester. Next year I will be attending a four-year engineering school, and will be majoring in computer science.

So far I've learned the following

1. HTML-- easy
2. Javascript-- picked it up mostly on my own, and from a basic web design class.
3. Visual Basic--- Introductory Class, to give you the scope of the class, we ended the semester right after we got to database integration, but briefly covered it.
4. NXC- (Not exactly C), is a robotics programming language for the NXT Lego Robots.
5. ESS (event script scripting). If you play any valve games, or have ever hosted a server you should know what this is. It's what runs most custom mods for servers (gungame, some zombie mods, etc...).

All in all, most of my programming experience has come from either introductory classes, or self-teaching/recreational use.

I am asking how well prepared I am for the classes I will be taking once I get to university. When I get to university I will need to learn Java, C#, and probably alot more languages that I've never really heard of.

You shouldn't have to much trouble with Java as it is just a large extension of javascript. I am not sure about C# or any of the .NET languages.

Do you have any sense as to what languages you are going to have to learn, and to what depth, because you could do a little work on your own to prepare for them. And keep working with VB because that will help you with all the others, too.

Cheers!

Dude, it doesn't have to do with what you know. All languages vary in their commands and whatnot. The important thing is that you get the concept of programming. With this said, and assuming to do grasp the principles, you should be fine. I'm a sophomore in high school and I can say I can work my way around pretty well in VB and C++. I wanna learn some OpenGL and some C#. But I'm too addicted to video games lol. Trying to quit.