Why cant students find Computer Related jobs... I need one!

karling07

Daemon Poster
Hey everyone, I'm currently an undergrad student at Northeastern University in the College of Computer & Information Science. I've been looking for a while now for a summer internship or SOME sort of entry level job...

I don't have my degree yet (obviously), but my current GPA is 3.98 and i've worked really hard for it, and it's frustrating that without official educational experience on paper, I can't find a freaking job.

I'm mainly interested in IT/helpdesk stuff, preferably with a non-technological company (mostly because I deal better with regular people than other tech-savvy people).

I have experience with small business deploying entire computer systems, workstations, networks, servers, etc. I have experience with all windows OSs, mac tiger/leopard, linux (over 5 distros), programming experience is Java, Visual Basic .NET, mySQL, and Scheme.

I would say I'm really good at working with people too (i dont get impatient or frustrated ever), and i will work until the problem is solved.

So... how do i get a job?

thanks guys

I got a job by applying to a small company, it was a tech company, and they were very small,

it's easier to start with small companies and they'll tend to give you a little more help and stuff if you need it.

if you apply for a bigger company you'll tend to get lost amongst the hoards of other people applying,

you're stuck in that cycle of you need a job to get experiance, you need experiance to get a job at the minute.

you could also try to apply for some graduate schemes perhaps.
or apply at a local computer shop.

I know it doesn't make sense but I think they have a reason behind it.

They probably feel if they higher you before you actually get the degree you may end up quiting school since you found a job in the field your studying.