another car question...

I use a similar set. The jack isn't the greatest, but it works fine for general home use. The jack stands are sturdy and hold well.

cool. I'l let my dad know then. and I've got a ton of 4x4's to provide a plan b to a plan d, so I think I should be able to do that.

This is the set i have been using for like 3-4 years now and it works great every time...though I will admit if you have a low profile vehicle it can get to be a pain...my old jetta was lowered to the point that my cat would hit a speed bump in the middle of the car so i just drove my front wheels up onto a 2X12 and it was fine...

$50 for a 2.25 ton jack and stands. Not bad and its craftsman!

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_...t&sName=Lift+Equipment&filter=Brand|Craftsman

Here is a link to a tutorial on Expert Village on how to change oil, this should help quite alot :)

http://www.expertvillage.com/video-series/1187_oil-change.htm

The video shows a Pontiac Grand Prix but you would go about changing the oil on any car in pretty much the same way. The only real difference would be the location of the oil filter on the specific car you are working on and or the size of the oil drain plug.

I hope this helps, i worked as a tire, oil tech so i can say from personal experience that once you've changed the oil on one veichle you can pretty much change the oil on any, all that varies is size of drain plug and filter location really. You may find some cars have two oil drain plugs, but so far i've only seen this on a 89 mustang. :)

Oh and this is pretty rare but some cars may use a different type of oil drain plug, one i have seen needed a socket with an Allen key head on it to be removed but this is pretty rare so don't worry to much about that.

Enjoy!

I have a funnel that I use for gas... could I use it for oil if I cleaned it with soap and water first, or should I buy one for the oil?