Overclocking?

Big Mountain

Beta member
Ok I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to Overclocking because my old system wasn't really worth it but my new one is just asking for it.
I've got the q6600 on a EVGA 680i board and everything that I have read says that it's the perfect board to overclock the q6600 with. So if anyone has any experience overclocking one either reply here or just send me a PM.
Thanks

I think you'll find the 680i is not the "perfect board", it is FSB limited when overclocking a Q6600.

For starters, which cpu cooler do you have?

Big Mountain, I've successfully overclocked my Q6600 to 3.0GHz by increasing FSB to 333 and reducing the CPU voltage. I'm running on the stock cooler and by temps don't go over 59* at any load. I'd recommend you mess around with OC but start low. You can try 311 for your FSB, which will give you 2.8Ghz.

Download "Core Temp" to monitor your temperatures at idle and load. It shouldn't go over 70* IMO. I'm not comfortable with anything over 60*.

If you need anything else let me know.

I think you'll find the 680i is not the "perfect board", it is FSB limited when overclocking a Q6600.

For starters, which cpu cooler do you have?

Uh... what exactly do you mean by that? The 680i does not cap the FSB at all. I guess I misunderstood you, but the only thing that limits a board's Overclockability is the processor itself, with a locked multiplier. Sure, the 680i may not be an overclocker's dream, but it does not block any features. The Q6600 however, may not be the best CPU to OC with a 9x multiplier.

Big Mountain, I've successfully overclocked my Q6600 to 3.0GHz by increasing FSB to 333 and reducing the CPU voltage. I'm running on the stock cooler and by temps don't go over 59* at any load. I'd recommend you mess around with OC but start low. You can try 311 for your FSB, which will give you 2.8Ghz.