Remember Memory?

hobbesent

Solid State Member
I have a question for the PC gurus in this forum. I'm running an HP Compaq Presario (which, as I understand it, is lacking to begin with). I'm a designer and design websites, graphics, etc. for my clients and have a professional knowledge of my software and applications. However, the inner-workings of a PC are not in my wheelhouse, so to speak. So here's the issue:

I'm continuously running three to five programs from the Adobe Professional Suite (Dreamweaver, Illustrator, Flash, InDesign, Fireworks, Photoshop, etc.), ftp programs, XAMPP, a word processing program, Firefox and perhaps a small app or two at the same time. The PC is slower than I would like it, especially when I'm dealing with large graphics. It doesn't typically freeze, but sometimes individual programs do. In any case, I'm definitely lacking in performance and it's costing me money waiting on the PC to play catch-up.

So I took a look at several things: I ran the disk clean up and defraggers, naturally, and eliminated unnecessary start-up programs. I also downloaded MaxMem at the suggestion of a colleague. When I look at the MaxMem stats, it tells me that I have, on average, about 50% of my memory free. My hard drive isn't even close to being filled because I keep all of my files on an external HD anyway; and back up to another HD.

When I take a look at my properties under 'My Computer,' I get: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+ 991 MHz, 960 MB of RAM Physical Address Extension. I'm not sure what all of that means, but I'm assuming that with 960 MB of RAM, coupled with what MaxMem says, I always have 480 MB of RAM free. From what I've scoured online, that should be plenty to keep things speedy.

I've also checked for and eliminated any viruses, rootkits, spyware, adware, etc. so I'm fairly certain none of these things are causing the problem.