My Own Web Server

ssc456

Fully Optimized
hey guys,

just thinking wen i get my static ip in a month or so ill be setting up my pc as a web server but it will still be my main pc so that fine i know how to do that,

but in january or feb sometime im getting a new pc so my old 1 will become a dedicated web server and nothing else and i have a few friends around the country that would like the ability to host their files on my computer and be able to manage them from there, how would i allow them to do this without giving them total control over my pc ?

cheers

You would give them FTP access (Or something similar) and restrict them to that one folder.

gonna need a little more info than that lol, treat me like a total noob,

OK - What OS Are you going to be installing on the server?

havent quiet decided yet,

id like to keep it simple and stay on XP as thats what my web server program is running on right now,

but i have considered a form of linux or server 2003

isnt there any great reason why i shouldt stay with XP on it ?

i mean besides it wasnt built for a server use, its still ok to use isnt it ?

XP has some pretty hard limits functioning as a webserver. Only 10 web connections allowed at the same time I believe?

XP has some pretty hard limits functioning as a webserver. Only 10 web connections allowed at the same time I believe?

Im not 100% on this, but i BELIVE that you can patch the whole connection thing. If i where you, i would download

Ubuntu Linux
as you OS, and the following programs:
  1. Apache2
  2. MySQL
  3. PHP
  4. ProFTPD
  5. Webmin

Im not 100% on this, but i BELIVE that you can patch the whole connection thing. If i where you, i would download

Ubuntu Linux
as you OS, and the following programs:
  1. Apache2
  2. MySQL
  3. PHP
  4. ProFTPD
  5. Webmin

ok kool well ill be setting it up jan sometime so ill post another thread after xmas