Deny User Access

Kalgatha

Fully Optimized
My teacher in my E.A.S.T. class wants to deny each students access to other students folders. I don't know much about servers, but more than she does >.< She has all the Users under a "user" group, and close to a hundred users in it. Each user has a folder. I tried to deny access to the whole user group and set each user as the creator/owner. but that didn't work. anyhelp would be appreciated b/c i don't know what the hell im doin! Thanx guys

do you not have a network admin? sounds like a hackers dream.
go to start>run>gpedit.msc and look for any suitable permissions.
if that fails you can manually set the permissions on each folder (may take a while)
other than that i dont know, im not that good with servers. wheres DJ-CHRIS when you need him

do you not have a network admin? sounds like a hackers dream.
go to start>run>gpedit.msc and look for any suitable permissions.
if that fails you can manually set the permissions on each folder (may take a while)
other than that i dont know, im not that good with servers. wheres DJ-CHRIS when you need him

I'm here.

You have the right idea by restricting the NTFS permissions.

I can help you more, but I need to know more. I'll add you on AIM. EDIT: Your not their, just message djchrisremixtk on AIM.

Also by default, the creator owner in an active directory based system is administrators or the profile creator. This is a great idea, but doesn't work.

She should begin by giving the Administrators user group access to all folders, but this should be this way by default.

This is all the information I can give you without further information, I am afraid to say. I will echo what DJ-CHRIS said and the need to ensure the NTFS permissions are correct and that no other user groups are given access to the folders other than the Administrators user group.