need help on a new build

stiles1

Baseband Member
hi i am new to building a new pc, i have come up with a gaming build around my $1000 budget i am giving myself from looking on other forums and this one, but i really don't know if it is compatable at all or is there is something better or cheaper. so any comments would help. anyways this is the pc i am looking at building.

pc case: ANTEC - CHAS ATX TWR 3 5.25-6 3.5 4 FANS

hard drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB

cd-rom drive: DDU1615/B2s

processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz

processor cooling fan: Zalman 9700

motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R

memory modules: Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB

power supply: OCZ600GXSSLI

video card: EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB

Looks good to me at a short glance. I personally would get a Western Digital HDD, Corsair RAM, and an EVGA mobo (what I got), but if you have read good reviews on these brands it should be fine.

Be careful with the Zalman. The fins are really sharp even though they don't really look or seem to be. Sliced myself several times with my Zalman 9500...and I was trying not to.

Haha same here but with the 9700. Its easy enough to fit, but while cleaning out wires and that, I did cut myself a few times. One was rather deep too, ouch.

Looks like a pretty good build.

The motherboard supports both DDR2 and DDR3 for the future, plus 45nm CPU's, and 1333mhz FSB's

Don;t know too much about it other than that mind, but it seems like a pretty good one. A lot of manufacturers are having problems with the memory controllers on ones that support both though, but later BIOS revisioins have fixed most of them.

well after a few helpful comments from you guys and from some other people helping me, this is the build i am going with so far.

pc case ANTEC - CHAS ATX TWR 3 5.25-6 3.5 4 FANS

hard drive Western Digital Caviar SE WD400JB 40GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100