Making your own company

Don't waste your time. Go find something else better to invest in.

As a webmaster, i've seen many of these "wanna-be" youtube clones with "better services" come in and out of our hosting and each one failed.

Youtube owns the monopoly of video uploads. Stage6 owns the dvd video upload center, Veoh Networks comes in second with Youtube.

You just can't "beat" Google. If you and your programmer buddies come up with a revolutionary new website system or service, then you can make millions. Until then, trying to step on the train with the big boys - you'll just get ran over.

A domain is $9.95 a year; doesn't mean anything. The only "better" services you could offer would be to pay people to upload their videos. It's not gonna happen.

Even IF you manage to create some special uploading site, how would you market it? Youtube owns all the search engine for video uploads. (Google Upload is the same thing.)

Thats completely true.

Not to mention all the file upload sites, file sending sites, and other small video upload sites that are catching up (i.e. yahoo videos).

It cant be done. Come up with some other cool idea.

Director's account's can upload longer.

I got a YouTube director's account and I can't upload anymore than 10 minute clips... They stopped doing that about the time I got my director's account, which was probably over 6 months ago.

I would like to download videos longer than 10 minutes. I use Veoh.com to upload all my short films in one clip and then embed then to my site since they offer unlimited time, under 100MB. I just gotta do a lower quality and I can get it on there.

well they could try...like if there not successful for a year than they could stop. they could seriously make some money. a good way to pwn youtube could be use of windows media player or quicktime to render vids instead of flash. this leads to btr quality of video. just try seriously.