No experience in building computers

Thrasher

Daemon Poster
First time building a computer and I need some help selecting parts

Hey I'm really thinking of buying the parts listed in this thread to build the 1st computer valued at around $600 but I have no experience building computers. It seems daunting that after spending so much time piecing it together, there's no guarantee that it will work. The machine I'm using at the moment is very average and the prices of some of the newly assembled computers are basically twice the price of the above mentioned computers and the specifications are much less.

My dad has some electrical knowledge but he's pretty reluctant about supporting me in spending that amount of money on something I pretty much have no idea about. Other than the manuals for each separate part, are there any guides on the net that can guide us through building a system for the first time? any advice? Would it be worth it finding a professional to build it for us? and would you do you think that'd roughly cost me?

I reckon, you should learn and find out for yourself :)
Otherwise, the next build, you'll do the same, etc.

I was daunted too on my first build, but I was determined, and thats what counts!

I read the manuals while building from front to back when building for the first time. It helps, as you know exactly where to put each part.

Honestly, its an experience you won't forget when you hear the computer powering up for the first time, on its own 2 feet as it were.

If there are problems, these are workable :)

As long as you apply common sense it is pretty impossible to wreck anything , if something dosent fit it dosent go there , and tbh looking you can sorta guess where everything goes , if you have problems you can always ask here
And yeah building your first one can be dauning but after that you wont go back , i am never going back to buying prebuilt for my own use