So, what are my chances here

FlightSimBoy

Fully Optimized
A few local computer shops are in need of some help. I don't know what the requirements are for the job, and I don't want to call yet because I don't want to look stupid. I'm only 16 years old, but I do have a lot of experience with computers. I can easily diagnose a problem with hardware and software. I'm sure the job doesn't need this, but I have some experience with Java, C++, HTML, and I'm learning XML just for the hell of it.

So, I just want to know, from my experience alone, if I stand a chance. If I have that down, then I will find out the other requirements later.

For those who ask, I pretty much excel at installing and configuring hardware. Graphics cards, RAM, optical drives, and the list goes on. With software, I'm not that experienced, but I can diagnose and repair a lot of problems that way. Programming wise, I'm still a n00b, as you l337 people would say, but I'm catching on quick. HTML is the only language I can program with off the top of my head.

Naah, you really don't have a chance unless you have something like experience or certifications to back your claims up.

yeah, well, I'm going to have documented experience in about 4 months, after i get a few computer classes in at school... that will help some, i guess

I don't see it hurting if you try. It's not the end of the world if you try and aren't accepted. Celegorm works at a computer repair shop and he's only 16 or 17 I think. He just recently got his certifications from what he posted, and was working there before getting them. I think you got a shot at it. I would try more to get a job at a PC shop if I lived closer to them. I'm 17 with no certifications, just over 2 years hands on experience, and 1 year reselling them.