My CPU has gotten slower... and a problem with installing my new HDD

kamiccolo22

Solid State Member
Well I'm no complete noob but I'm far from an expert and I've got a few problems.

Firstly, my AMD2500+ which is like 1.7ghz has now slowed down to 1.1ghz :confused: I don't remember changing it and so the question is how do I change it back and what could I possibly have done without my conscious effort to change it... so I can avoid doing this in the future!

Secondly, I bought a 400gig IDE HDD quite a while ago and its just been laying inside my case gathering dust and so I've finally made the effort in asking someone (you awesome people!) to help me in installing it. Well the problem is that when I try to install Windows XP on the HDD it only allows me to install a 128Gb partition... this also happened to my other HDD that I'm using atm which is a 200Gb HDD but it only allowed me to install 128Gb.

So heres what I've got in use atm:
HDD - 40Gb, 128Gb (supposed to be 200Gb!)
Motherboard - some kinda yellow one which i remember correctly is of the brand "Soltek"
RAM - 256mb DDR400
Graphics Card - Radeon 9200 128mb

Yeah I know my computer is pretty old (haven't updated for about 2 yrs) but I don't play games anymore so I haven't really needed to upgrade it or buy a new one. Hope you guys studied history so you can help me with my ancient computer problems ;) . If you need more info just ask!

Yay 1st post :cool: , sorry for the length... but thanks if u read it!

Welcome!!!

Well...it's possible that your computer is just slowing it down to conserve power when the processor isn't under load.

As for the hard drive problem, make sure you're formatting it in NTFS, not FAT. FAT has various limitations that make NTFS a better choice. You should get a choice when you go to format it.