User Logon Scripts.

dickibobboy

In Runtime
Hello.

I am running windows server 2003. Nothing much is used on it yet. A couple of roaming profiles for the other 4pc's in the house and a shared directory for installation files and things.

For the users i would like to try and apply a logon script that will not allow the user to edit the desktop or change the wall paper. I have seen this in collages and public computer rooms. Nothing happens when you right click on the desktop or the taskbar. Not able to get into control panel or the Local Harddrive. Is there something i can do here to get this working. I am a total Noob tothis. All i know is i need to creat a bat file and put it in netlogon on the server.

Any help would be brilliant.

Manythanks

Adam

Hello.

I am running windows server 2003. Nothing much is used on it yet. A couple of roaming profiles for the other 4pc's in the house and a shared directory for installation files and things.

For the users i would like to try and apply a logon script that will not allow the user to edit the desktop or change the wall paper. I have seen this in collages and public computer rooms. Nothing happens when you right click on the desktop or the taskbar. Not able to get into control panel or the Local Harddrive. Is there something i can do here to get this working. I am a total Noob tothis. All i know is i need to creat a bat file and put it in netlogon on the server.

Any help would be brilliant.

Manythanks

Adam

adamddickinson at gmail dot com

This is mainly done in "group policys" now and not logon scripts. If you just google around for group policys to lock desktop, you should easily be able to find what you need.

if you are a total noob to server stuff like me then use "microsoft shared computer toolkit". it will apply your chosen restrictions to each account instead of running a login script. it will do the same job though.

Don't think that would work over server deployment would it?