Monitor not getting a signal

realitytripz

Beta member
Hi everyone, this is my first time here and yes I'm a beginner. I have a comp that I built from scratch about 3 years ago and have done a few upgrades to it every now and then. (Vid-card, MB,processor.) Well, just recently I sold my comp to my little brother and it continued running solid for a while. Later on he told me it stopped working so I checked it out. It seemed that the monitor wasnt getting a signal from the vid-card during start up, it would just stay in standby (yellow light) even though the rest of the comp was running. So the first thing I checked was the monitor, so I hooked the comp to my 2nd brothers monitor, same thing happened.

So, I bought a brand new MB for the heck of it, needed a new one anyway as a ram slot was faulty on the old one. When I installed the new MB, and did a fresh install of windows XP something changed. Now, the monitor will get a signal only when I do a hard reboot. If I turn the computer on and go through windows and do a restart the monitor will not get a signal, same as if I go through windows and select shutdown. If I do that I have to turn the computer on, turn it off, turn it on again to get the monitor to catch the signal. The vide-card is a radeon 9800 XT AGP, I Can't test it because my new comp doesnt have an AGP slot and my 2nd brother's comp doesn't have a high enough power supply. So, I installed a new AGP card I bought for my 2nd brother into the comp with the problem and the monitor didnt get a signal from that card either and the same exact problem persisted. This is driving me insane.