MS Office/Word 2007 won't open Word docs

PDP8E

Beta member
I upgraded to a Dell XPS, base model. Vista was installed, as was Office 2007. However Microsoft Word 2007 will not open Word documents created before 2001. Does anyonw else have this problem?

The Microsoft website offered a way to change the Registry, but admitted that was a risky procedure, that could be unrepairable.

Word 2007 can open most of my 1997-2003 docs in "compatibility mode." It's truly inconvenient and un-userfriendly that Word cannot open Word documents. I would like to save them into the new Word format, but I can't even open them. No other installed program will open them. I am a writer and have hundreds of documents I use rarely, but which I need.

Is there anyway to easily convert old word files into RTF, rich text format, or another format (HTML, or plain text) that can be read by most word processors?

Should I buy an old version of Word and install that to read my old docs?

Because of this lack of backwards compatibility, I am planning, in the future, to switch to Linux, Firefox and Open Office. Maybe I should get out of proprietary word processing right now. Thanks!

right click the document. go to open with. and then choose wordpad. then you can save it as a rtf or txt or what ever you want. then you can copy to office 07 if you want

Yeah, Office 2007 has a new format now, its supposedly smaller in size. It should be compatible with all 97-2003 documents. As for being in compatibility mode, I'm not too sure if theres a big difference. Sometimes I have to save my school essays in both formats because when I upload an essay to Turnitin.com or e-mail it to school to print, it needs to be in 97-2003 format because my school hasn't upgraded yet so the new 2007 format isn't fully accepted yet.