Newb guitarist needs some help.

El_Zilcho

Baseband Member
Yeah, I've been playing guitar for a few months and I figure it's time to upgrade. I mostly need to since mine is untterly incapable of hammering on and pulling off, and sounds not-so-great.

These are the three I've been looking at:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/pr...ratocaster_electric_guitar?full_sku=103575189
http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/pr...0rr_rhoads_electric_guitar?full_sku=102559077
http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/pr...r_standard_electric_guitar?full_sku=103933339

I need one that's under 500, since the folks won't let me get a job. I would like the strat since Fender is a great company, and I like all the options with the pickups and trembolo. However, I'm pretty sure that all of my 5 guitar playing friends are going to get a strat for Christmas, and want something different that none of them will have. Any suggestions? Played any of these guitars? I'm mostly concerned about how the guitar sounds, but any feedback about these is appreciated. Thanks.

EDIT: Almost forgot, I play mostly classic rock, and I dislike metal and screamo, so Id appreciate it if anyone has any warnings. Aren't humbuckers the pickups that create the metal sound? Correct me if I'm wrong.

humbuckers are pickups that create a warmer, deeper sound :)

what guitar do you have now?

and i suggest for the type of music you play, to get an epiphone les paul. they cost around 400-500

Personally I would use the VW guitar, it really won't be a huge collector I think, more guitars that are collectors are because of how popular or what they were made out of and how they sound. If you are to get a new guitar, get a strat. It's simple and very easy to learn to play on. Yeah your friends may be getting them but everyone has strats because they sound and perform great.