format hd

Johnh

Baseband Member
i have a brand new hard drive that i am adding to my computer, and honestly ive only formatted a hd once with some help, and it was sometime ago so i dont really remember what to do.

i already have one hd in and i just want to add the second one in but im not sure how to format it.

also im thinking about getting vista aswell, but i want to be able to choose between xp and vista
how do i do that??

i know i sound like a total noob and these q's have probably been posted a lot of times

but if you could help that would be awesome!! :-D

thanks!

get into the contorl panel then click administarvie tools your new hd should show up right click it and click format and it will give you the options there.

You missed the part about going to Computer Management from Administrative tools (alternatively you can right click My Computer and click Manage)....then format the new hdd (I suggest using the NTFS format)

As for putting Vista on it, once you have formatted the hdd, boot the Vista disc and install Vista onto the new hdd (not the old one or you will overwrite you're XP)...follow the steps and honky dory, when they are both installed, when you boot up it will ask you to select which one you wanna boot, XP or Vista

Matt

You can format it if you like but I bet it's all ready to go right out of the box. :p
Right click on it in explorer and check properties.................

Brian_Fenner said:
You can format it if you like but I bet it's all ready to go right out of the box. :p
Right click on it in explorer and check properties.................

When I purchased my Maxtor hdd, I had to format it before I could use it??

Matt

You missed the part about going to Computer Management from Administrative tools (alternatively you can right click My Computer and click Manage)....then format the new hdd (I suggest using the NTFS format)