SATA Harddrive

PuNkY

In Runtime
I know that you are suppose to install the drivers while installing windows (the F6 thing) but I just installed windows with out them. If I install the drivers 1st will I get better performance? It seems to be working fine, but I'm new to SATA.

Usually, those drivers assure that the windows setup can actually detect your SATA-Drives. But since you could successfully install Windows on it, this means that those drivers might have been loaded by default. IF you have more than one Hard-Drive though, make sure that you installed Windows to the partition you wanted. If you only have 1 Partition or Hard-Drive you should be completely fine.

coolmission said:
Usually, those drivers assure that the windows setup can actually detect your SATA-Drives. But since you could successfully install Windows on it, this means that those drivers might have been loaded by default. IF you have more than one Hard-Drive though, make sure that you installed Windows to the partition you wanted. If you only have 1 Partition or Hard-Drive you should be completely fine.
Thanks, and welcome. I see your new here.

Yup, just to back up what coolmission said (welcome Cool BTW) if windows installed on it, odds are the drivers are in. Really, the only time you need to do the F6 thing is if your doing RAID or have a SCSI drive installed.

Is that custom build the one you just installed on?? either way, it looks nice.

celegorm said:
Really, the only time you need to do the F6 thing is if your doing RAID or have a SCSI drive installed.

I believe XP SP2 disks have SATA drivers available during installation. Pre-SP2 disks required installation of SATA drivers via floppy and F6 just to get XP to recognize the drive. That's been my experience.

celegorm said: