Learning a language

ultrarob

Solid State Member
I'm looking at a long and boring summer before I go off to college to major in Aerospace Engineering with a minor in computer science. Assuming I already have a job, would learning a computer language be a worthwhile use of my time?

If so, would Java be a good idea, or would another language end up more useful in the long run? I have plenty of experience with TI Basic, if that even counts.

That all depends. If you learn one lanugage, you pretty much know the logic and the basic syntax to the others, barring minor differences. If you were looking to get a head start before college, then I would say definately two thumbs up. Most of the beginning courses will be about logic, so learning the basics of one language would be enough to teach you the flow of a program. I love programming, and it makes me $$$. I can't speak for others, but most people program because they like/love it. Don't know many people who hate it and still do it.
Java has very powerful web applications, but once you get into very lengthy complex java applications, it can be slower than others. Java is good if you like order, your curly braces and case sensitivity. Other languages might help you more if you aren't really interested in web applications. Microsoft Visual Basic is very very similar to the TI-82+ Version of Basic, with a little more sophistication.

YES! I know from experience that taking the time learn as much as you can about programming before you head off to college will benefit you greatly.

Java is good language to learn as is C or C++.