My Desktop Build-Thoughts, Info, Help, Opinions Greatly Appreciated!!!

01tacomaman

Baseband Member
I am looking to build a Gaming/Work Desktop. I am looking to keep it in the price range I already have but if you know of a better part or one part not working good with another please let me know as I am new to this.

Motherboard-Asus P5N32-SLI Deluxe

CPU-Intel E6400 Core 2 Duo(CPU and Motherboard off ebay 478$)

Hard Drive- Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200JB 320GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive(85$ from newegg.com)

Fan-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler(70$ from newegg.com)

Case-APEVIA X-Navigator ATXA9N-BK/500 Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case ATX 500W dual fan w/ automatic fan speed control. Connector 20 + 4 pin Power Supply(85$ after rebate from newegg.com)

Video Card-XFX PVT71PUDP3 GeForce 7900GS 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 EXTREME Video Card(145 After Rebate newegg.com)

RAM-Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory(170 newegg.com)

Optical Drive-SAMSUNG Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache E-IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner - OEM(30$ newegg.com)

Please help me with any info and compatibility problems that might occur. Also can I just use my Dell OS disk to install Windows XP so I wont have to buy a new OS and how do I go about drivers? Also will be finishing it all off with a 22" Dell LCD Screen. Will all this perform together nicely?

why get an IDE 8mb cache crapppy HD

Get a SATAII 16MB Cache WD Caviar HD

Possibly think about spending a few more bucks on the ram and getting DDR2 800 ram, corsair has some very nice sets for a few bucks more.

besides that nice setup.

yeah get a SATA II hard drive. I got a Western Digital Caviar 160GB for about $65 from Newegg.

Okay do yall have any good reccomendations. Also what about my OS and drivers. Can I use my OS from my laptop to load on there?