I am not an expert and need advice...

wol-va-rine

Fully Optimized
I received a computer from a friend (so now I have 2 older computers) and want to mix and match the memory and processors so that I have the faster computer of the two (the other one will be for my kids to play internet games), I'm not all that worried about speed, but want to maximize what I have...

the computer I'm on right now has 3 memory slots/bays (filled with a 256 mb and two 128 mb sticks, chips, or whatever they're called) and a 550 mhz pentium II processor...

the other computer only has 2 memory slots/bays, so the most I could have is 384 mb, but the processor is an 800 mhz pentium III...

which will be faster, running 550 mhz with 512 mb ram or 800 mhz with 384 mb ram...?

thanks in advance...

switch the btr processor into the comp that has more slots for memory. ask a reatailer to do it for u. it may be at a cost but neither of the current combination for a comp is that great rite now. at least make urs the best u can get it. but if this were not possible, u should use the 800 mhz p3 one. i believe that 250 mhz in difference can make up for less ram. u should download freeramxppro here http://dw.com.com/redir?pid=1051696...://www.download.com/3001-2086_4-10516960.html
and go to settings and check or uncheck the options u wish to have or not. this program will make the most out of ur ram. i reccommend.

spywarebanisher said:
switch the btr processor into the comp that has more slots for memory. ask a reatailer to do it for u. it may be at a cost but neither of the current combination for a comp is that great rite now. at least make urs the best u can get it. but if this were not possible, u should use the 800 mhz p3 one. i believe that 250 mhz in difference can make up for less ram. u should download freeramxppro here http://dw.com.com/redir?pid=1051696...://www.download.com/3001-2086_4-10516960.html