wow....computer repair fraud

Steff said:
We have a Chips here, sells computer games etc? :p
Must be a popular name, the one I go to on the Isle of Wight is very tiny, about12' x 16', & that includes the workshop!, yes, & like yours, crammed with games, plus two demo's on all the time

hmm...
I have to say that if I worked in a shop I'd have probably done that one for free... though it really depends on what the workload that I was upagainst was...

I mean TBH if I was quiet enough to be able to plug it in wholst whe was there ropping it off I could have found/fixed the problem in a couple of minutes, sent her back out the shop without charging a penny...

but you have to think that the average wage of an employee, and the fact that it'll take a short while to find thr problem.
it's nice that some people will do simple things ilke that for free.

but it's no way to run a business!

you guys have to realize that you are on a computer forum, you obviously have a interest in computer or electronics. some people just don't want to do it themselves. they don't want to be bothered with it, just bring it in broken and leave with it fixed. it takes time to do the research to learn how to do something you've never done before and when you just need it to work it's to long. the shop I work in charges $75 to do a wipe and reinstall, this includes a dvd worth of backup, reinstall of os, drivers, all windows updates, and any software you bring in that you want reinstalled after the install. now tell me honestly, if you have no clue what you were doing with a computer that wouldn't even turn on, is this not a good deal??

on another note, I'm sure best buy charges about 400 bucks for the same service considering to do the single dvd backup is around $90.

xtremezx2 said:
you guys have to realize that you are on a computer forum, you obviously have a interest in computer or electronics. some people just don't want to do it themselves.