Questions on reinstalling Windows XP

Redonmyhead

Baseband Member
I'm going to reinstall my windows xp b/c my computer is too dang slow due to all the crap on the system. I have the restoration cds,windows xp cd, and the drivers that came with the computer. Is it hard to do? Do I use the windows xp cd 1st and then follow with the drivers, and then the restoration cds when reinstalling? Is there a good website with pics?

Also, I only have 160gb hard drive. I will use the NTFS format. My question is the partitions. Is it worth having mulptile partitions on this hard drive? What is the advantage of having mulpitle partitions? If I don't do the multiple partitions, I use the quick NTFS format? If I do the multiple partitions, I don't not choose the quick NTFS format?

I'm a noob when it comes to computers. Well, I am a Registered Nurse, not a computer tech.

Thanks,
Red

you don't need the recovery cd.

Just but the win xp cd in and boot from it. (go to bios, change the cd/dvd drive as the 1st boot device)
Then follow the setup, delete all the old partitions (will remove EVERYTHING from the hdd, if you don't want to remove stuff then don't delete the partitions)

Then either make 1 or 2 partitions. I usually just make 1 for windows and 1 for linux, but you could also make, say a 40gb partition where you install windows + all of the programs you use and then leave the 120gb partition as storage.

And if you have the time then you should use the full format, but I've always used the quick one and haven't had any problems. And the amount of partitions doesn't have any effect on which way of formatting you should use.

And then when you have succesfully installed win xp just put the driver cd in and install what you need. I'm guessing you will have to download the vid card drivers separately, but they can be easily found from the manufacturers website.