HELP, noob, first build...!!!

nokturnalchrist

Solid State Member
:confused: :D ok, so like it said i am a noob, i am gonna be building a computer real soon, i have most of the parts already,

what i need help with is basically what to do after everything is put together, for example, first boot, bios, sata driver install/bios recgonizing sata/optical drives, processor optimizers, etc.

and also like little things that a noob may not know (ex: setting up primary and slave drives, waiting to install sound card until system is stable, Etc...

and just some tips, things to look out for, problems i may incounter etc, im not a super noob, but i want to do things right my first build :)

if you have aim mine is the same as my username for better contact!

thanks!

Well to start, how many things are going to be connected to your mainboard? 1 SATA drive ? If you are just making a basic PC with 1 hdd and optical drive and ram. When you first turn your machine on, leave out the hard drive and just have everything else connected, just so we can see the memory is working, the CD drive is work, have a look in the bios (change the boot mode so it will boot into CD first (so you can install OS). After you have seen everything is working fine, Turn machine off and install SATA drive. OS should be easy

well, 1 sata drive, 2 optical drives. my one question about this from what you said and what i have read is, after i set in the bios to boot from the cd drive, install windows etc. do i need to change the boot form? or will it do this automatically and if i do what would i change it to?

thanks
btw

Crucial ballistix PC6400 2 gig ddr2
ASUS M2R32-MVP AM2 mobo

if you or anyone else needs more info let me know!

you don't need to change the boot order back to boot off of your HDD first, but its definatly reccomended (saves boot time if you have anormal cd in the drive taht it will want to search for a boot sector)

ill be building a comp soon to and my question is