installing windows on new build.

boyinshirt

Solid State Member
Hey guys. you were extremely helpful last time, so thank you.

so this is my first build... and I have everything set up in the new build and now i'm confused.

when i start up the computer, it says:
"Reboot and Select proper Boot device
or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

I press a key, the green light on the CD-Rom goes on, but nothing happens. it has the same message.

so i restarted the computer, and I went into the "BIOS SETUP UTILITY" and went under "Boot". I changed the boot device priority to the "[CDROM:SS-HP DVD Wr]

I did that because i figured I'd be booting up from the CD-Rom with the windows disk.
(and i know that the CDROM is reading disks, because i put in my motherboards Chipset Support CD)

what's happening and how can i get my computer up and running

okay so i found this :
okay so i found this:

" . Now for heading you the way to windows setup, So enter your bios and try to find the detect drives, now this should detect your main hard drive and you should set this to be the boot drive. Now before you do this create a boot disk (Create from a working computer) and insert this, now reboot and it should boot into command prompt. Now you should type FORMAT C: and you disk will be formatted. Now insert your windows cd you are using and type into command prompt X: (X is the letter of your cd drive) then type SETUP.exe, This should look like X: Setup.exe. Press enter and you should be taken to the windows setup. Once your installed you have finished completely. Congratulations. "

so i changed my boot device to the hard drive.

but how would one go about creating a boot disk? is that what the chipset support CD is? I bought a floppy drive, but I think one of the pins is bent, so there goes that plan. Also there is no CD burner on this computer (the one i am posting from). (i could always get a friend to make one if this is a possible way?)

:\