GPU not recognized

puffaSmoke

Solid State Member
Hello All!, another noob here

I would try SEARCH, but one of my newest troubles makes that most challenging. The browser, as well as other windows, closes unexpectedly while I'm working, going back to the desktop with nothing on the toolbar. I have installed a new HDD after suffering a major malware infection on the old HDD.. got so bad system wouldn't boot.. planned to install new HDD then slave to old to salvage some old files.
The new hard drive is in with XP installed. I can't get the thing to recognize the grafix card.. even with BIOS set for INIT AGP.. Devices Manager only shows the onboard (VIA/S3 UniChrome PRO).. I even disable it and it makes no difference. Everest indicates:
AGP Status Enabled
as well as
AGP Device VIA/S3 Unichrome Pro Integrated

What am I doing wrong?
I'm asuming that the Radeon X1300 XGE is a plug and play device, so shouldn't windows give me a 'found new hardware' msg??
I thought perhaps that I had a bad graphic card so I bought a new one and the symtoms are identical.
Using Everest to indicate Total Physical Memory I sometimes see 447MB.. sometimes I see only 197MB (I have two 256MB sticks installed!)
I expect that the RAM issue is causing tasks to close without warning (and I'll upgrade to 1GB if the GPU can be made functional), but why doesn't Device Manager show the Radeon card under Display Adapters

Thanks,
Mike
Jetway PM9MSR2, Intel P4 Northwood HT 2.8GHZ, 2x256MB RAM (generic), XP Pro SP2, WD800JBRTL, Radeon X1300 XGE

This may sound like a stupid question, but did you install the drivers?

well to me it seems that you are still running with the onboard vid card. That would explain why you it doesn't show you all the ram, some of it is used by the vid card.