upgrading advice

d52477001

Baseband Member
Hi everyone.
I have decided to upgrade my pc and need some advice. My budget is around 400 euro (can be a bit more) and I want to get at least a new motherboard and a new cpu.
I figured that the best cpu in my price range to go for would be a core 2 duo E6400. This leaves about 200 euro for a motherboard. Can anyone give me some advice on which motherboard would work well? I have no experience overclocking, but I will want to get in to it, so preferable a motherboard with reasonably good oc'ing capabilities. From the research I have done, the asus p5b comes up a lot and seems like a good choice. Any other recommendations?
I will probably also want to replace my stock cooling system, but have no idea what to look for, so some suggestions on air cooling systems would also be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance..

400 euros is about $500, and that's what I'll be figuring in.

The Core2Duo E6600 is only $315, and it's a great overclocker if you're into that. If you want to save the money, get the 6400, but I'd recommend the 6600.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003

A good motherboard isn't really that expensive, usually under $150. The Asus P5B is right around $150, and it's a good motherboard as long as you don't need all the extras such as 2 PCIe slots.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131030

Both of those products will go a few bucks under your budget. If you get the E6400, though, you can save some money.

Hmm, there seems to be quite a price difference between US and European prices, the cheapest E6600 I can find here is 300 euro which at current exchange rates is $380..

Either processor is a great choice. If you're not going to overclock, then the E6400 is only a touch slower than the E6600. If you are thinking of overclocking, though, get the E6600. People are pushing it over 1000 MHz past stock, which is a huge increase.