How did Nvidia pick their name?

they were high, all computer companies are high when they name their products. i mean seriously Microsoft??? lol :p

That comes from him buying the OS DOS, aka Microsoft DOS from his friend. And by tat, he moved on.

mammikoura said:
So how did they end up with Nvidia? I just started wondering about this at school, since our religion teacher mentioned that invidia (latin) means envy. So kinda got me thinking, not a big difference between nvidia and invidia... :p

I bet that's a good connection there. Latin always seems to work its way into the English language. I'm taking a Latin class and am in my first year, and there are so many cognates that it's crazy. Then again, it is my first year, so maybe it's just not gotten hard yet, but it's amazing that there are so many similar words.

I don't know anything about hardware manufacturers' history. Which came first, nVidia or ATI? If ATI came first, that almost makes some sense there. Maybe they had envy of ATI... :confused:

THEpiGUY said:
I don't know anything about hardware manufacturers' history. Which came first, nVidia or ATI? If ATI came first, that almost makes some sense there. Maybe they had envy of ATI... :confused:

Ati was first. Nvida came like early 90's or something like that. And yeah, I was thinking about that envy of ati thing too. :p

mammikoura said:
Ati was first. Nvida came like early 90's or something like that. And yeah, I was thinking about that envy of ati thing too. :p

Ok...that kinda makes sense now. Plus, ATI ends in an -i, making it genitive! Which, if you don't take Latin or never studied cases, means "of ____", or "____'s"; it shows posession. Now just to figure out what "Atus" or "Atum" means...if either of those is even a word, which I don't think they are.

I fired off an G-mail last night to Nvidia. I'll post back when I get a reply.

And this envy thing is not factual. It's two companies competing in the same line.

setishock said: