XP reformatting help plz!

DarkNemesis

Solid State Member
Let me start off my saying i'm a complete noob when it comes to computers, so bare with me plz. So i came up with the idea to start anew with my computer and I decided to format(by new i mean getting rid of everything, just like buying a new hd). I load up my xp cd, and i choose fresh install. My computer restarts and gets to the setup screen. It tells me I can install over or delete partitions. Here's where I get stuck, I guessed that a partition is one part of your hard drive( I only have one). I press D to delete but it tells me I can't cause theres temporary something files that if i deleted won't allow me to install. So I just install over it into the same partition. When I finally finish installing I see that in my C: drive theres still my old users around and I'm already 186GB/250GB(haven't touched anything yet). So basically I now think that i have to make a new partition to delete the old one.. but i can't make a new one. Anywyas i read on a site to go to computer management and by accident I converted into dynamic disk. Now i don't know what to do at all. plz someone help me to get a fresh copy of xp onto my computer with nothing else. THANKS! if any of you want to ask me personally about the problems, email jnemesis8@gmail.com.

DISCLAIMER: if you are a n00b, you will not like this process. Depending on who you bought the PC from, this can be painless or a pain in the ass!

Details: Guess the first thing is for you to let us know who is the PC made by and more importantly, does it come with a RESTORE CD or an OEM copy of WXPP.

NittyGritty: either way, you should boot to the CD. You may have to enter your BIOS to change the boot order, or some PC's like HP and Dell let you strike F12 to change the boot order once. Whichever the case may be, change the boot order so that your HD boots LAST. Insert that CD that came with the computer and reinstall your software.