Antivirus

juggernaut1

Beta member
Hi all. As I am new to computers, I am wondering if an older antivirus (such as Norton Antivirus 2004) is just as good as Norton's 2006, or if I have to fork out money each year to buy the new version. Also, what software could you generally recommend for a trouble-free installation? I'm running windows xp, and I'll be using the computer for everything. Thanks in advance,

Juggernaut.

IMO ya antivirus is only as good as ya last update, because of the new viruses appearing everyday. Also i would avoid norton coz it is well known for being powerhungry. Im running bit defender at the moment and its really good, kaspersky is canny aswell. Everyone will have their own ideas of whats best tho

juggernaut said:
Hi all. As I am new to computers, I am wondering if an older antivirus (such as Norton Antivirus 2004) is just as good as Norton's 2006, or if I have to fork out money each year to buy the new version. Also, what software could you generally recommend for a trouble-free installation? I'm running windows xp, and I'll be using the computer for everything. Thanks in advance,

Juggernaut.

As far as antivirus goes, it is important not just to update the signatures... But also the product itself, as each new version generally is more capable of detecting new viruses... With better scanning engine's and etc.

[size=-1][/size][size=-1]www.avast.com
[/size][size=-1]www.bitdefender.com

Try them, I use Avast! myself and I think its great.
[/size]

also some service provider's will offer free antivirus with their subscription, it depends on the subscription though. cable internet has a free antivirus that goes with the hookup, but that's on the East coast, it will differ from other areas.

Charchris said:
[size=-1][/size][size=-1]www.avast.com
[/size][size=-1]www.bitdefender.com

Try them, I use Avast! myself and I think its great.
[/size]