Upgrade..?

kadaw

Baseband Member
Hey,
I have a sony PCV-RS620, was woundering if i could just buy a new MB [new Processors and new rams], powerunit, and a better looking case. Can I use my old [the one already in this sony] HDs, videocard, tv-tuner,cd/dvd/burner, most important the vr. of window already in the HDs?

Very noob q?, Im a noob to building computers.

So if thats a simple yes, I would probly be back to ask which ones are good.

Thanks

You would have to check the interface for all the old devices and make sure the new mother board has them. ex if you video card uses agp 4x/8x in order for it to work the new motherboard has to have a 4x/8x agp slot. The dvd and cd burners sould be ok because the interface hasnt changed in a while... chances are they are ide and like 95% of motherboards still use that (to my understanding) The only problem I can see you having is that The ver of windows as you refer to as might not work because at the motherboard is different and migt cause errors with the drivers and such. I had problems at school with this same kind of situation I have a removable hardrive that I put in the computers at school so I have my own space to work on but when the school upgraded to newer machines My Operating System(ver of windows) wasn't working with them. I was told to reformat but haven't yet.

Hope this helps sorry if it didn't. I don't know how much you do know about computers but I tryed to keep simple for ya.

You should have a ide cable for the hard drive, might be sata, but everything should run ok, just make sure everything is compatable.

And with the parts you plan on keeping, its sounding like it would be.

The vid card in a retail computer is probobly PCI, same with the tuner card, and the hard drive (as i said before) is probobly IDE so that will just plug right in too, and it should boot windows for you.