What should I upgrade?

jimmy_fowler

Solid State Member
Hi guys,

I guess I'm somewhat of a newbie here. I've been a computer user for donkeys years, and I'm well versed enough to fiddle with some success, but in terms of hardware I know little. I recently got a new computer, and have some spare money to upgrade a few bits.

These are the main problems:

- I have a large screen, so games and especially DVDs come out a tad pixelated even on highest resolution and sharpness, etc.
- It's often a little bit stop-starty in PC games.
- It's a good computer, but I'm sure it could be better!

Anyways these are the specs: (btw if I get this wrong, I apologise, I'm reading it off of Device Manager hehe).

- Fujitsu Siemens Scaleo P
- Radeon X550 Graphics Card
- NEC ND-4551 DVD-RW drive
- M-Audio Firewire Solo recording interface/sound card
- Samsung SyncMaster 913N Monitor
- Intel Pentium 4 3.6 GHz Processor

Is there anything there that's a glaring problem that could be upgraded? Many thanks for your help.

Thats a rather nice PC. I really like the CPU. For all you people that want total information about your computer, go and download Belarc Advisor- http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html This is a free easy to use software that gives you a total report of your COMPUTER, and i mean total, every little bit.

Is your screen a flat screen or a CRT? go download and run that software if you want a better understanding of whats in your PC without opening it up.

Thanks man, I'll do that. Sorry to have taken your time with a newbie question. Glad you like my PC :) And thanks for your help :)

It's a flat screen btw.

Ok Belarc told me this:

Processor:

3.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
16 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Main Circuit Board:

Board: FUJITSU SIEMENS P5SD1-FM2 Rev 1.xx
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0304 01/03/2006

Memory Modules:

1024 Megabytes Installed Memory