Your mission: Find me the best cheap computer, please

woofay11

Solid State Member
Hey everyone, first off thanks for taking the time to read this post. As the title says, im looking for a computer. Here is a little background on my situation: skip to the next paragraph if you dont want to read this. im a college student/ small time gamer, and about to leave for my first year in college. I just heard the news from folks back home that my comp crashed, and i know its the motherboard. We are just going to get a new one because this one has been giving us problems since day one. This will be for my mom, and she is only going to use it to check email and read internet stuff.

So here is what im looking for, the best build quality and performance for $500 or less. I can't settle for getting an absolutely crappy $200 comp even though that would work in this situation. Something with good, solid, and current techlnology that will last a while is ideal. I would like a large 200gig HD, 1gig memory, and a nice DVD burner too. I wont be needing a monitor,mouse or keyboard. Do i need dual core or 64-bit, that, along with the rest is entirely up to you. So all you in the know, please asist me and find me the mighty little computer that could

thanks, Peter

i got a great computer (in my signature) for 360 bucks including tax came with a LCD monitor too!! some people think as acer as an off brand but it's not it's a computer company starting out, they are selling computers very cheap I love how good they are and they don't have those stupid "if you remove this your warrenty will be terminated" on the case. I got this computer in a local Circuit City ad for back to school stuff thats why it was so cheap.

My advice is to pay close attention to your local ads for Best Buy, Circuit City, and other vendors (if you have those stores). Also look for ads that say pay an extra 50 bucks and upgrade your such and such.
bottom line - look for local ads