Need your help on buying this PC

daftburger

Solid State Member
PC novice here... that annoying time has come again where I have to buy a bloody PC. A joy to most of you I'm sure but to me it is a major hastle!! :rolleyes:

I use my current rig :)D first time ive used that word) for:-

word/excel/access/surfing/email/lot of downloading movies&music/ipod

not particulary interested in gaming but would still like the option to run a half decent game for 30 minutes before I get bored :)
so how about this one????

AMD Athlonâ„¢ 64 X2-4200+ Dual Core
with HyperTransportâ„¢ Technology
Genuine Windows® XP Media Center
ASUS A8N-SLI nFORCE 4 PCI X Mainboard
1024MB DDR 400 Memory
300GB Serial ATA Hard Drive
256MB nVIDIA Geforce 7600GT Graphics
Dual DVI,HDTV & TV Out PCI Express
19" Viewsonic VA-912 TFT LCD Monitor,
DVI & 8ms response time + Built in Speakers
Sony 16x Dual Layer DVD Writer
7.1 Channel Surround Sound Audio
Logitech Desktop KB & Optical Mouse
£834 quid

It is from meshcomputers, is it a good deal? Am I skimping on anything?
I set myself a £900 budget with a 19" monitor.

Good advice appreciated! Even a nod will do

Thats a very good PC right there. Only I dont suggest getting XP Media Center, its useless to me. So if you can, than pick Home or Professional instead of the Media.

I agree with rance-n-e. That system is NICE! But to get Windows Professional... media center edition is useless.

That's a nice system :)

ViewSonic make excellent monitors BTW :p

My mate got the Media Centre OS and he says for the extra £15 you get a nice front end and a snazzy remote, so you might as well keep it :)

It all looks great :D

Why windows media? I don't know! What is it?? What's the difference;) It just came with it and I overlooked upgrading to xp pro

Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional Edition[upg £ 25.00]
Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional x64 Edition[upg £ 35.00]

there is the upgrade costs, extra £10 for this x64 edition (?????) worth it? No idea! Please advise