PLEASE HELP ME!!! Wireless Internet Connection Issues

Temporaryuser

Solid State Member
Hi, i am new to this so i might be a bit behind.
When i used to log onto windows, my wireless connection always used to automatically connect me to the internet. However, it now tries to connect but fails and tries again. I have waited for hours for it to connect but it dosnt and i have tried restarting my computer. I have been told to right click the "wireless connection" icon (bottom right) and then clicking "repair", it then retries connecting to the internet but stops when it says "renewing IP address" in the window that pops up. It dosnt change from this screen until you abort the repair by clicking the "X". Also, if i right click the "wireless connection" icon (bottom right), click "status", and then click on the tab named "support", under "address type" it says "invalid IP address".
I have tried "System Restore" and when i hover the mouse over the "wireless internet" icon it says at the bottom, "aquiring network address".
Again please help me.
Thanks

First check device manager to see if there are any problems with your hardware. Also try resetting the router. Do you have a laptop or desktop? What brand router? What wireless connection, USB adapter or PCI?

Also try typing "ipconfig /flushdns" (without quotes) in the command prompt.

Make sure that the PC is set to DHCP

Start-->Control Panel-->Network Connections

Right click your Local Area connection-->Properties

Highlight TCP/IP-->Properties,

See if Obtain IP address automatically and Obtain DNS server address automatically are checked

Also go to a command prompt (start, run, cmd) and type ipconfig /all in the prompt. If the IP address it gives for the wireless adapter is a 169.254.X.X address, check the DHCP server on the router. Sometimes the service that assigns IP addresses for the router stops working and needs to be reenabled.