help

asoueidan

Solid State Member
im a little confused

think of me as a total newb to computers. i have had the same comp for 5 years and it is time to get a new one. i have always delt with software and not to much with hardware. there are alot of new cpus coming out and i need to know what is best to buy but before i do that i need to know what is going on. when i bought my computer thhigher the cpu speed the better the preformance. now there are cpus coming out that run at 1.6 ghz that say they out preform comps at 3.o ghz. and the whole thing about duel core cpus. will a duel core running at 2.8 ghz be better than a p4 runing at 3.2 ghz i am really confused. and sorry for sounding so stupid.

well I'd go with the amd X2 (dual core) processors. But wait until they drop the prices, I think it was in the end of this month. Then u can get those like 30% cheaper.

Thats AMD for you. They run at slower clock speeds than Pentium processors but they can do more a clock, making them faster. Basically if AMD specifies at 2.2ghz, and is listed as 3500+, its as fast or faster than a 3.5ghz Pentium 4 in some tasks.

AMD are better gamers than Intel Pentiums, but Pentiums have the edge in video editing/encoding and the processor intensive type tasks: even more so on some programs if you have an Extreme Edition (Basically a true CPU core, and a theoretical CPU (unworked clocks go to do something useful, sort of emulating dual core performance)

Though, yeah, right as of now, if you have the money, and since prices are dropping, I'd seriously consider an X2 :)

As for Dual Core, if its specced at 2.8ghz for example, thats both chips.
With Dual Core though, its alot better, and if programs work with Dual Core (more and more will), you'll get alot more performance.

Still though, alot of programs dont work with Dual Core, so you won't get a performance boost over a single core processor.