PS2 lag when connected to PC

Ov3RBliK1

Baseband Member
Hi, this is my first time here and I'm hoping someone can help me out. I have an ATi All-In-Wonder X800XT which I have my PS2 connected to right now. I use the Catalyst software that came with it and have all the latest drivers, and everything works fine except for the fact that whenever I press a button on the controller, it's delayed by just a little in the game. It's almost impossible to play because of this. Are there any settings I could change or something I can do to fix this? If you need more detailed information just ask because I guess this seems pretty vague. Thanks in advance!

No, I'm not playing online or anything. Just using the input cables on my graphics card.

Oh, so you're using your computer as the monitor input? Hmmm...I always wondered if that would work. I guess doing that gives it some lag. Not sure though, never tried it.

my friend dose this with his gamecube, ive done it with n64 there should be no lag.
its not normal theres obviously an issue. there should be a certain amout of lag if you have programs running in the backround and if you have an LCD monitor but not so much that its unplayable. try closing all un nessecary programs that you have running in the backround see if that helps.

Please list your PCs specifications, pending on the amount of RAM you have and Processor speed this may very well be the issue, as the GPU has to relay the commands from the PS2 to the CPu then produce the result. So there can be some lag. Just list specifications so that we might be able to get another look at what exactly is being processed and how fast it is being processed. XD

OK here are the specs:

ASUS P4R800-VM
Intel Pentium 4 2GHz
1GB (2 x 512MB) Kingston Pc3200
ATi X800XT All-In-Wonder 256MB AGP 8x