Finally Gonna Do It!

xguynameddavex

In Runtime
:D

Alright, i figured it would happen eventually, im going to throw a different OS on another partition on my HD. Im really new to this and i have no experience with other os's, but i grew up with dos, so it shouldnt be too difficult. If i have any problems, i figure i can just come back to you guys on this partition! :)

Any suggestions on which one to use, redhat, ex ex, you know all of them, which one do you think i should go with? I would prefer medium difficulty in learning it, im up for a challenge :D

Are you looking for stability, or useability? What kind of OS are you looking for? Advanced Configuration? Normal Desktop Use?

Im looking for something with alot of useability, i want something that i can learn from, and it will help me with any other operating system that i would run into. I want a challenge! :) not nescessarally advanced configuration, i want something thats going to give me a challenge, but that i can also jump online and find an easy answer if i have a problem (online, i really meant here :D)

For decent desktop use, I would suggest SuSE(by novel), VectorLinux, Or Mandriva formerly known as Mandrake(all linux) However I would suggest trying out a live cd distro first so that you can try it out and play around with it etc.. without making changes to your partition. the install is wayyyyy different than windows. fdisk for example is mostly command line. i have seen a few that are gui but most are not, and i would hate to see you whipe out your drive unintentionaly. And on that note. Windows doesnt like to share the MBR with linux. you will probably have boot problems. Dedicated computer to the new os is your best choice aside from a live CD