Data back-up- Please read!!!!!

The Nightingale

Baseband Member
Hello, I'm new to the forum and was hoping for some help from people in the know! :)

To be honest I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to computers and all things technical, so when giving answers to my questions please treat me like one. I'm not very good with technical talk so keep it simple with me. ;)

I'm going to completely wipe my harddrive and OS using eraser's DBAN. I have two operating systems installed because a couple of years ago a local company took away my PC to get rid of a couple of viruses and installed Windows XP on our system ( we also have Windows ME, that was the original one).

Anyway, to get to the bottom of this I need help with data back-up. This is a list of everything I need to back-up and install on my fresh versions of Windows.

Norton antivirus software 2005
The contents of the "My Music" folder
Several games
MSN Messenger
My HP Printer ( all the drivers and the configuration etc.)
My documents
Network adapters/card and router configuration - my computer and my brother's laptop both use the same routet to get online. It's a Thomson 546 router and is plugged into an ethernet port in the back of my PC via a ethernet cable. We had to run a thomson speedtouch disc to configure my router and we use broadband Gold plus via AOL.9.

Now a couple of questions:

1. Could you tell me what kind of disc I need to save things such as ethernet adapters to, and my hp printer drivers. Also will I be ok saving my music contents to normal CD-RW/CD-R and my documents to a floppy disc??