Windows vs. Linux

RewtGuy said:
Linux has executables. Hell you can even rename your executable .exe and run it. Don't believe me?

rewtguy@linsensi ~ $ echo -e '#!/bin/bash \n echo "Linux Executable"' > bleh.exe && chmod +x bleh.exe && ./bleh.exe
Linux Executable

1.jpg

/me loves how people feel they "MUST" defend their OS of choice

Maybe I should get a bucket of popcorn and watch everyone fight it out...

Well said.

Firsr of all, you had to make the file executable. Linux does have executable files, but in order for them to execute, they have to be made executable. You were able to make it executable with chmod +x... However, once the file is executable, it wouldn't automatically have root access to the machine. If it does do damage, it'll only be on that account.

Where's ubuntu? Ah... since software is made 90% for windows and since playing games in linux is virtually impossible... windows is the winner...

I prefer Linux over Windows any day. I'm new to Linux, but from what i can tell I'm not getting anywhere near the amount of spyware, viruses, adware, or any file that practically targets your PC to harm it. Linux is also a lot more stable from what I can tell. I used to be getting error after error when trying to establish a network through Windows, but when I tried establishing a network with Linux, Fedora Core 4 might I add, it worked flawlessly the first time!

Before that I had to spend on average, at least 2 hours trying to set up the network. Window's to me is used for peopel who don't know a lot about computers, which is why they have so many built in functions to help peopel with disabilites; such as hearing, sight, and typing. Linux is more targeted for peopel who might know a thing or two about PCs. The most difficult thing to learn in Linux is the Terminal and how to properly use it. Even then, there's about a million fourms out there that contain so much information on how to use it it's crazy!