Pentium D vs Athlon 64 X2

1337DuD3 said:
Ok, walk up to your average Joe, who more then likly owns a Dell or a Gateway or somethign else, and say, "Hey, what kind of Pentium 4 do you own?" Do you honestly think he'll know? Of course not. Only computer technitions use that terminology. And are all of us here computer techs? No.

You'll be surprised. I've worked at Circuit City, and most people do know how fast their processor runs. People tend to buy their computers based on its speed, and not the fact that it's a Pentium. With that information, you can tell what model processor any person has.

Oh, and I'm a tech. You build computers and you're not a tech. Interesting. If you build computers then you ARE a tech, believe it or not. Don't be a stranger. Join the club :p

What the heck are you saying I don't know anything or very little about computer componets? I biult my own PC, and I help build friends PCs, as well as upgrade them with aftermarket parts! I know a lot about computer componets. if you don't believe mr ask a few members and they can tell you that I've helped some of them out with some of their threads regarding PC hardware.

And no, you will not be able to tell the difference between a 3.5 and a 3.6 GHz CPU. No human on the planet can calculate how much a .1 GHz increase will affect their overall performance then be able to actually tell the difference it makes. Because once you're way high up in the processing speed it makes very little difference. If it was a lower CPU, say 600 MHz and you were goign to 700 MHz you might be able to tell the difference. But when you have a very fast CPU as is, you won't be able to tell the difference.

When overclocking an AMD, you do notice the difference. With a Pentium, you probably won't This is mainly due to the fact that AMDs do more per clock.